Helpful Writing Utensils


I was in the store recently and found some writing and coloring utensils that are helpful for encouraging small motor skills.  One of these items are crayola’s triangular crayons.  I picked up a box of these for my son to try and would rate them about a 7/10.

My son has used them and his coloring skills have improved a little bit but I’ve not noticed any major changes as of yet.  An article I read recently stated that for children with fine motor skills problems it is recommended to use jumbo size crayons for coordination until he improves his writing skills.

A word of caution though – I used to purchase quite a few dry/erase multiplication, handwriting and other helpful charts for my children to use as it was more cost effective than printing out worksheets.  I thought this was an excellent way to have our son practice his hand-eye coordination and writing skills until his OT (Occupational Therapist) told me that starting children out on dry-erase boards before they have mastered handwriting is not a good idea.  I was told that the surface it too slick and they cannot maintain proper control of the writing utensil.

It is recommended to use jumbo, stubby crayons or pencils until he/she has built up her hand muscles.

Also check out this website I just found for other great products in helping your child with sensory and handwriting needs.  http://www.therapro.com/Triangular-Pens-Pencils-Chalk-Crayons-C4349.aspx

They also offer  raised lined paper with or without letters and numbers for your child to learn how to write in the lines:

http://www.therapro.com/Raised-Line-Learning-Papers-C307762.aspx

Leave a Reply

